Battery for Carlson Explorer II

Discussion in 'Surveying & Geomatics' started by Steve D, Oct 16, 2010.

  1. Steve D

    Steve D 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Buena Vista, VA
    Licensed in:
    VA
    Battery for Carlson Explorer II

    I have an Carlson Explorer II data collector with a internal rechargeable battery pack that is only one year old. Regretfully I have not used the data collector more than a couple of times a week over the past year.

    The battery will not charge more than about 10% and for the past few cycles would not hold a charge as long as I felt it should.

    Any advice on reviving my battery pack; or should I just bite the bullet and buy a new one?

    Anyone have an inexpensive supplier?

    Thanks
     
  2. Squinty Vernier

    Squinty Vernier 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    510
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Contact Ed Abbott at 1-800-951-2965.

    He's recelled our Explorer and all of our Topcons. Fast dependable and reasonable. He'll fax you a shipping label.

    Your battery will be better than new.

    Rick
     
  3. Steve D

    Steve D 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Buena Vista, VA
    Licensed in:
    VA
    Thank You! ;-)
     
  4. Brian Nixon

    Brian Nixon 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Coopersburg , Pennsylvania
    I had my explorer battery pack re celled at a local battery store. Went from three hours work time to multiple days work time. When "New" it only lasted 6-7 hours.
    Cost was UNDER $20.
     
  5. SirveyorBill

    SirveyorBill 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Stone Ridge, NY
    Brian,
    Maybe you could be a sales rep for this battery store, we'll send our batteries to you, you get them recelled and send back
     
  6. lattitudes

    lattitudes 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Alaska/Florida
    Might already know this but on the Jetts you must tell the DC that the battery is fully charged. This is usually done during initial set up however is a step sometimes skipped. Other than that a recell is very inexpensive. In a pinch you can still use alkalines.
     
  7. Brian Nixon

    Brian Nixon 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Coopersburg , Pennsylvania
    There are plenty of battery repair stores that can
    re-cell the explorer battery packs. They are after all
    simply rechargeable AA batteries with a little extra
    circuitry.
     
  8. Steve D

    Steve D 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Location:
    Buena Vista, VA
    Licensed in:
    VA
    I live in a rural area. No battery repair stores that I am aware of within 100 miles. Does anyone have a web address, physical address, company name or phone number?

    Thanks for helping a mountain boy.
     
  9. Wendell

    Wendell Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,386
    Location:
    Salem, OR
    Licensed in:
    AZ, OR
    I would look for a Batteries Plus store. I had them recell a couple of old Geodimeter batteries (for my 444) and they not only recelled them, they put better batteries (with the same output) that were rated for longer hold times.

    http://www.batteriesplus.com/
    (check out the "Find A Store" feature just under and to the right of the logo)
     

Share This Page