1. How to get logged in to the NEW SurveyorConnect.com!

    You should have received a password reset notification at the email address you used to register your account here. If you don't receive the email, please check your spam or junk folder. If you still don't have it, please click the following link to manually reset your password. If all else fails, send us an email at support@surveyorconnect.com.

    [ CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD ]

Pipeline As-Built Survey - Post Construction

Discussion in 'General Land Surveying' started by mmm184, Jun 12, 2012.

  1. mmm184

    mmm184 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    240
    Location:
    Laceyville, PA
    We have been approached by multiple gas companies to perform as-built surveys of their pipelines. Unfortunately, most of the pipelines are already back-filled.
    I've used my Schonstedt in the past to detect steel lines. While this method is not exact, it was good enough for my purposes at the time (rough location on a boundary plat). I have little other experience in this regard.

    There are more specialized pipeline locating devices. Does anyone have experience/advice? Note: some of the pipelines are poly, with a tracer wire above the pipe. Some are steel.
     
  2. cmsurveyor

    cmsurveyor 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    90
    I use these guys

    www.mps3d.com
     
  3. Joe-Nathan

    Joe-Nathan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    St. Martinville, LA
    Radio detection with a transmitter is the way to go.
    The RD 7000+ and 8000+ are real good. We still have a few RD4000 that we use. I have gotten over a mile w/a good clean connection.

    The key is to not have a lot of other lines that the signal can bleed off to.

    http://www.radiodetection.com/products.asp?sec_id=2689

    But we all have our favorites and we usually have more that one type of locator in the truck.
     
  4. Andy Bruner

    Andy Bruner 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    941
    Location:
    Georgia
    Do you

    have to provide vertical also? If so be sure to buld in enough to probe and/or post hole to get the depths. I agree with the others about using direct hookup to trace the pipe (tracer wire). You get better results and longer distances. Be careful if there are two or more pipes in close proximity, you can get "bogus" results if you're not careful.

    Andy
     
  5. Joe-Nathan

    Joe-Nathan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2010
    Messages:
    377
    Location:
    St. Martinville, LA
    Do you

    also be aware that you probably do not want to probe any non metallic lines. Most clients will not even let you bring a probe on job site.

    Should have stated that you can get a depth (approx.) reading with most Radio detection systems.
     
  6. paden cash

    paden cash 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,963
    Location:
    The Great State of Oklahoma
    Licensed in:
    OK
    I've always had the client flag any backfilled trench when it's not evident (fresh trench) where the line is at.

    Can't remember a time any one of them wouldn't.
     
  7. JustinRains

    JustinRains 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Licensed in:
    AL, KY, MS, TN
    We (Wiser Company) offer 3D subsurface mapping using ground penetrating radar (GPR). Its effectiveness depends on soil conditions, however the NE typically has very good conditions for GPR. Let me know if you would be interested in a teaming arrangement.

    Justin Rains
     
  8. jud

    jud 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,950
    Location:
    Lexington, OR 97839
    Did 85 miles, of gas line. The line had been put in about 20 years prior in range land, irrigation turned it into farm land, the gas company wanted to put more pressure in the pipe and a minimum depth was required. We located the depth every 25 feet, that distance was paced. We used a metro-tech with the emitter attached to the trace wire to locate the pipe and obtain the cover depth, if it was less than the specified depth, it was probed, 95% ended up being probed.
    How I set it up was to get a bunch of those price tags, 1" in diameter with a sticky back and sent a crew ahead locating the pipe and leaving a tag with the depth written on it where the pipe was located and probed. Followed them with a total station crew obtaining horizontal location and carried trig levels ahead for the ground elevations. The shots were taken at the tag locations and the depth was read from it and entered in the field book and data collector and the data collector was downloaded to 2 disks each night, one was mailed in and I kept the other along with the field notes. Worked well, a 4 wheeler would have helped retrieve the emitters but we had two and I did a lot of walking, moving them ahead so the crews didn't have to stop to do it themselves. Probably better ways to do it now but it would be hard to improve on the measuring crew leaving the tags along the route for the other crew to use. Having never done this before, I told the crew that if they saw a better and quicker way and did not tell me, I would be mad about it, never had much problem listening to others ideas and I wanted them to be pardners, not subjects.
    jud
     
  9. Kris Morgan

    Kris Morgan 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,226
    Location:
    Rusk, Texas
    Get a RadioDetection 4000. Hook to the pipe and locate away. Then, as-built the pipelines in some grid format. In Texas, they require "T4" maps, which are the as-built drawing but they have to be in some odd format and on quad sheets
     
  10. Lamon Miller

    Lamon Miller 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    337
    Location:
    South Louisiana
    A large portion of my work is pipeline and we use these:

    http://www.ssilocators.com/pipe-and-cable-locators/pipe-and-cable-locator-2000.php

    We use one of these to probe the first 1.5'-2'.
    http://www.caturner.com/Bang%20Bar.htm

    If I have a stake in the field with a cover it has been probed to determine depth. Over the last few years we have added several new clients because their surveyors at the time were relying on their instruments to determine depth and it turned out to be wrong.
     
  11. Iceman

    Iceman 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Everett,WA
    I use 2 bent copper rods and witch for the pipe.

    Ice
     
  12. John Wilson

    John Wilson 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    Evansville, IN
    We've used these units to track hundreds of miles of gaslines. Pretty dependable if properly maintained.
     

Share This Page