1. How to get logged in to the NEW SurveyorConnect.com!

    You should have received a password reset notification at the email address you used to register your account here. If you don't receive the email, please check your spam or junk folder. If you still don't have it, please click the following link to manually reset your password. If all else fails, send us an email at support@surveyorconnect.com.

    [ CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD ]

    Dismiss Notice

Raked Pile Set-out

Discussion in 'Construction & Mining' started by Kieran McKeon, May 1, 2011.

  1. Kieran McKeon

    Kieran McKeon 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    I am using Trimble S6 with Survey Controller, but there's no pile set out option. Can anyone suggest an alternative?
     
  2. christ lambrecht

    christ lambrecht 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    Belgium - Flanders - Ghent
    Not clear to me what raked Pile Set-out means exactly ...

    but in the stake out menu you can choose to stake points, lines, arcs, alignments and DTM's.

    I suppose you're piles are just points? You can key in these points or load them from another job-file or an ascii file [Jobs - Properties of Job - Linked Files] or you can import a dxf with your stake data [Jobs - Properties of Job - Active Map]

    Once you did a station setup you can start from the stake menu or start from your map screen by selecting and staking.


    Link to Trimble Survey Controller Documentation

    Hope this helps,

    chr.
     
  3. Jeff Wright

    Jeff Wright 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Location:
    Santa Clarita, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    If I understand your question, you're talking about shoring piles that are installed at an angle rather than vertical. I've heard them referred to as battered piles.

    I've only layed out piles like this once. I approached it like I was catching a slope. I would find the location on the ground where the face of the battered pile intersects the existing ground and set a nail there. Also, give an offset to your catch point.

    The shoring contractor can set up his drill rig to the specified angle and start drilling at your nail. If they're putting in a steel soldier beam in the hole, they can make a jig with a four foot level to make sure it goes in with the correct batter.

    I hope this is what you were asking about.

    Jeff
     
  4. eddycreek

    eddycreek 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    Eddyville, Ky
    You could also create points with the coordinates and elevations of the tops and bottoms, then do a "stake out line" based on those points. 0 cut and 0 offsets would be the spot on the ground.
     
  5. Kieran McKeon

    Kieran McKeon 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Battered piles is the same thing, but it's over water so no access.

    The problem is setting out the center of a 600mm diameter pile. I have to observe both "edges" of the pile and then turn to the half-angle and apply a 300mm prism constant. This is very messy and slow, the barge holding the pile moves in the waves/wind so by the time I've done my observations they are almost redundant.

    To be really accurate the 300mm (half of pile diameter) prism constant is incorrect if the pile is on a rake (battered).

    I have already asked my Trimble supplier and they said there was no pile set out program in Survey Controller. I think there may be one in Trimble Access but it's been a while since I looked at it.

    Thanks for the comments.
     
  6. SIR VEYSALOT

    SIR VEYSALOT 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    656
    Are they battered piles for piers such as supporting an elevated roadway? Why are they battered in the water? Are they precast, cast in place, concrete, metal,? If you have many to stake, sounds like you may have to pre-fabricate some type of support system on the barge or barges that is already set to the batter required. Anchor the barges to a sunken dead-man and winch into position.
     
  7. christ lambrecht

    christ lambrecht 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    Belgium - Flanders - Ghent
    No such option in Access!

    chr.
     
  8. eddycreek

    eddycreek 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    591
    Location:
    Eddyville, Ky
    I located some mooring cells above Ky. Dam a few years ago like that, but they weren't battered. They set a template first to use to guide the piling, I had to locate the center of the template. Had a prism on the front of the barge, I was about a half mile upstream on a rock outcrop with a total station and a radio to the boat pilot. Had to get him close, let him drop his spuds, then recheck and move until he got it right. Hard to do in river current. Plus it was snowing and blowing directly in my face.
     
  9. Andy Bruner

    Andy Bruner 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    986
    Location:
    Georgia
    About 35 years ago I laid out a ship dock in the Houston Ship Channel that used multiple battered (and vertical) piles. We laid out a template on sheet steel on shore and then placed it on a framework attached to temporary piles. A jig was built to match the batter(s) of the piles and was tackwelded to the plates so the piles could be driven. I'll see if I can find the old photos around here somewhere.

    Andy
     
  10. Kieran McKeon

    Kieran McKeon 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    That's pretty close to how I'm doing it. But it's wind and waves moving the barge, and it's not snowing.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page