1. How to get logged in to the NEW SurveyorConnect.com!

    You should have received a password reset notification at the email address you used to register your account here. If you don't receive the email, please check your spam or junk folder. If you still don't have it, please click the following link to manually reset your password. If all else fails, send us an email at support@surveyorconnect.com.

    [ CLICK HERE TO RESET YOUR PASSWORD ]

Trimble Geomatics Office (TGO) Processing Issue

Discussion in 'General Land Surveying' started by Ricardo Johnson, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. Ricardo Johnson

    Ricardo Johnson 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Houston! We have a problem...TGO will no longer process Static GPS data as of Wednesday (Julian Day 257)~!

    The apparent problem is that GPS time reached 1 billion seconds since 1980 on Wednesday…(the Y2K issue comes to mind).

    Our hopes is that Trimble will create a patch to fix the problem, but I would not hold my breath since TGO is discontinued! Trimble Business Center seems to be processing static GPS with no issues.

    Ricardo Johnson, PLS
    John Chance Land Surveys, Inc.
     
  2. Brent Webster

    Brent Webster 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Tri-State
    Yup, the days of TGO are gone. TBC is the new deal and if you don't like it apparently too bad. Last issue I had I was told to contact my local Trimble dealer about purchasing TBC.
     
  3. NonTangent

    NonTangent 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    126
    Whoa...I had a wacky thing happen on Tuesday...in Trimble Business Center, an RTK topo shot is showing a vector as being from 1/5/1980. The duration is 0:00 and it shows no hor. or vert. residuals.

    It must have something to do with that. Thanks for the info.
     
  4. John Hamilton

    John Hamilton 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    The 1/5/1980 is week zero. This happens when the week number is corrupted or missing.

    I think it strange that the number of seconds since the beginning of GPS time has any effect. Most comps are done with week number and seconds of week, which rollover after 604,800. I was not aware that TGO converts it to a running count from week zero.
     
  5. John Hamilton

    John Hamilton 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,163
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Wow-I just tried it with data from today. This really sucks. I am not totally ready for TBC, and I don't like being forced into it. It is not a monetary issue-I have TBC, and I keep up-to-date with versions, etc. I just am very comfortable with TGO.

    Hope they fix this!
     
  6. Georges

    Georges 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    364
    Location:
    Canada
    Hopefully, they will come up with a patch. Trimble Geomatics Office is a great software. Intelligently designed.

    It would be inconvenient that users need to rely on third party manufacturers (or competitors) to process the Trimble data of their older, but still in good condition, equipment.
     
  7. MightyMoe

    MightyMoe 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,841
    I downloaded a data collector (all RTK) from the 15th and it worked. Then I processed a .dat file from a base using a Cors point and it worked (also from the 15th). What isn't working for you?
     
  8. John1Minor2

    John1Minor2 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    North Bend, OR
    Licensed in:
    AZ, ID, NV, OR
    I just downloaded a couple hours of data from 2 local CORS from the 15th and TGO would not process them. If Trimble was aware of this problem and didn't send a warning, I think they just lost a lot of customers.
     
  9. Jim Frame

    Jim Frame 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,115
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    I just tried some CORS data from the 15th, too, and got nothing, not even a wave.log file. Hmmm...
     
  10. Kent McMillan

    Kent McMillan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,700
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Evidently the problem is with the WAVE processing engine that both GPSurvey and TGO share, as I understand it. My version of GPSurvey with WAVE 2.35 began refusing to process static and stop-and-go baselines on Wednesday. The processing log indicates problems with the data in various modules of the program.

    Now the question is what to do. Trimble Business Center looks like it is several orders of complexity beyond TGO, which is really unfortunate for someone who just wants to process GPS vectors to export for adjustment in Star*Net.
     
  11. Dave Karoly

    Dave Karoly 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,465
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    You can download and run the L1 version of GNSS solutions for free. I don't know how much an L1/L2 license costs:

    http://www.ashtech.com/gnss-solutions-3935.kjsp

    The antenna editor is way more friendly than TGO's.
     
  12. Brian Allen

    Brian Allen 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,210
    Location:
    Preston, Id
    Has anyone tried the patch download at the trimble site yet? Has it worked to fix this?

    Trimble
     
  13. dig

    dig 3-Year Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Location:
    SE AK
    That download is years old and has nothing to do with this. BTW, after reading this I grabbed a couple of random UFCORS RINEX files from yesterday and they would not process today in TGO. I have TBC, but I would think Trimble has some explaining to do as I know alot of folks that still use(and like, including me) TGO.
     
  14. LRDay

    LRDay 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Sanpete County, Utah
    Licensed in:
    UT
    Some us old dogs might need to learn new tricks! Kinda sucks for sure!
     
  15. Kent McMillan

    Kent McMillan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,700
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    > You can download and run the L1 version of GNSS solutions for free. I don't know how much an L1/L2 license costs:
    >
    > http://www.ashtech.com/gnss-solutions-3935.kjsp
    >
    > The antenna editor is way more friendly than TGO's.

    What's the secret word to get access to the free download, though? When I follow that link, I just see the suggestion to have a salesperson contact me, which is friendly, but not all that helpful.
     
  16. Kent McMillan

    Kent McMillan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,700
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    After doing a bit of research, I see that Trimble Business Center (what a Donald-Trump-sounding name) comes in two versions, the Standard, which will only process L1 GPS vectors, and the Advanced, which handles multi-frequency processing. The price I was quoted was about three grand, but I didn't know to ask which version was being quoted. Considering that some manufacturers are giving away their L1 GPS processing software, it may well be that the Standard version of TBC is less than three grand. That would be pleasant.
     
  17. Dave Karoly

    Dave Karoly 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    6,465
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    OK that's new since the last time I went there. They used to just have everything on a public FTP, no login required.

    Now I guess they want you to register so they can start sending you spam.

    Google search for GNSS Solutions Download brings up several links. One I found is 3.60 (I am using 3.10). You would have to pay for dual frequency anyway.

    Obviously Trimble should be better for use with Trimble receivers (maybe).
     
  18. Kent McMillan

    Kent McMillan 4-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,700
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    > Google search for GNSS Solutions Download brings up several links. One I found is 3.60 (I am using 3.10). You would have to pay for dual frequency anyway.
    >
    > Obviously Trimble should be better for use with Trimble receivers (maybe).

    Well, that is going to pretty much depend on whether the new TBC software supports the older Trimble receivers or not. If not, I guess all RINEX files look the same in the dark.
     
  19. Jim Frame

    Jim Frame 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,115
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    > You can download and run the L1 version of GNSS solutions for free. I don't know how much an L1/L2 license costs:

    I don't often use GNSS Solutions -- I'm just more familiar with TGO -- but I decided to see if it had a similar problem. It didn't, and processed the test vector just fine.

    In the process I was reminded of just how easy Solutions makes incorporating CORS data into a network. It's pretty much a push-button operation: tell it which CORS and the desired time window, and off it goes, downloading the data automatically. It even gets the precise orbits and clock files if you have your processing style set up for it. Very slick.
     
  20. Jim Frame

    Jim Frame 5-Year Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,115
    Location:
    Davis, CA
    Licensed in:
    CA
    > OK that's new since the last time I went there. They used to just have everything on a public FTP, no login required.

    They still do: GNSS Solutions v3.60.
     

Share This Page