Share:
Notifications
Clear all

Survey College 2021

leegreen
(@leegreen)
1,000+ posts Member

I just dropped off my son at Syracuse SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry, also known as the Wanakena Ranger School. He has a long list of required items plus a bag items handed to him at the college. They include a clinometer, compass, HP35s calculator, laptop computer, Carlson Survey 2021 (which cost him just $100/yr for a life), field books, 10x magnify glass, 75ft loggers tape measure, hard hat, rain gear, snowshoes, cramp-ons, safety vest, etc. But no plumb bob 😏 . 

I graduated from Paul Smith's College (NY) 30 years ago. We were required to have an HP41 with a survey chip and a plumb bob. But they longer have a surveying program as of just last year.

This topic was modified 4 months ago 2 times by leegreen
Topic starter Posted : August 15, 2021 1:17 pm
Brad Ott, FairbanksLS, WarrenWard and 5 people liked
Edward Reading
(@edward-reading)
500+ posts Member

That's great, Lee. I have worked with some fine people from both the Ranger School and Paul Smiths. I went to Sterling College in VT many moons ago.

ReplyQuote
Posted : August 15, 2021 5:26 pm
Field Dog
(@field-dog)
500+ posts Member

Best of luck to your son, Lee! You must be very proud of him!

ReplyQuote
Posted : August 15, 2021 5:28 pm

FrozenNorth
(@frozennorth)
500+ posts Member

Glad to hear the Ranger School is still going.  Didn't know about Paul Smith's.  Sorry to hear that, I know a number of fine Paul Smith's surveyors here in Alaska.

ReplyQuote
Posted : August 15, 2021 8:42 pm
FairbanksLS
(@fairbanksls)
200+ posts Member

Congratulations!!!

Unless it's changed your son will have a unique experience in higher education over the next 10 months. He will add a year to his life by fitting two years into one.  He will develop a work ethic that will benefit him for life.

The NYSRS at Wanakena is good stuff.

ReplyQuote
Posted : August 16, 2021 5:42 am
GMPLS liked
SReeserinPA
(@sreeserinpa)