Clear all

Jonathan from Indiana

Page 1 / 2

jawats
Topic starter
(@jawats)
FNG

Hello all!

To be up front about it, I am not a surveyor by trade. I was a real estate attorney for 15 years, and now I teach English in high school, as well as property-related undergrad and law classes as an adjunct.

So, why am I here? I'm also a semi-obsessional photographer, and enjoy learning about and working with tripods. Recently, I purchased an old wooden one from an auction with a unique "spud" on top. My usual photographic forum members think it's an old transit surveyor's tripod, but do not know more about it.

I am planning to make a post here to see if anyone knows more about it.

Thank you!

--Jonathan

11 Replies
Bill93
(@bill93)
5,000+ posts

Many old tripods have a 3 1/2" x 8 threads per inch mount that was pretty standard for open-frame transits in their day.  A few instrument/tripod brands had proprietary mounts. For several decades now the standard has been 5/8" x 11 threads per inch.  Usually it will be hollow so the instrument or tribrach can sight down to the ground point it is set over.  I think you would be able to find a 5/8 to 1/4" adapter for camera use.

2 Replies
jawats
(@jawats)

FNG

@bill93 Here is a photo of the tripod and the unique top.

user112220 pic136584 1628021186
Bill93
(@bill93)

5,000+ posts
Posted by: @jawats

Well, I have to say I've never seen one of those.  It looks like maybe it could easily be converted to another mounting for cameras, though.

Nate The Surveyor
(@nate-the-surveyor)
5,000+ posts
IMG 20210804 074834
IMG 20210804 074910

Is it like either of these?

N

1 Reply
jawats
(@jawats)

FNG

Brad Ott
Supporter
(@brad-ott)
5,000+ posts

Welcome, neighbor.

1 Reply
jawats
(@jawats)

FNG

@brad-ott Thank you!

FL/GA
Supporter
(@flga-2-2)
5,000+ posts