Notifications
Clear all

SURVEY INFORMATION - Rookie Question

Page 1 / 3
jzamora1073
(@jzamora1073)
FNG Member

Hello All,

I am new to surveying, I am actually working on a site connection design for a house in new york city. 

Since I am a mechanical engineer I have no real experience with site surveys, can someone please give me some advice on the following:

1. What is RIM elevation and CL on a site survey? (File Attached)

2. How can I find the invert elevation of a sewer line from a site survey at any point in the survey (The land survey marked some INV elevations on two manholes).

Any advice would really be appreciated by this forum, Thanks a lot.

This topic was modified 3 years ago 2 times by jzamora1073
Topic starter Posted : August 16, 2019 3:54 pm
Topic Tags
VA LS 2867
(@va-ls-2867)
200+ posts Member

CL is the centerline of pavement elevation

The invert is calculated by finding the difference between the upstream and downstream invert elevations divided by the distance between the inverts to determine the slope. Then multiply the slope by the distance from MH to the point you want to determine and you will have a delta elevation to add or subtract from the starting manhole depending on if you are going upstream or downstream.

ReplyQuote
Posted : August 16, 2019 7:32 pm
Brad Ott liked
Norman Oklahoma
(@norman-oklahoma)
5,000+ posts Member

To restate what Jason wrote - "CL" indicates the elevation of the roadway surface at the centerline of the road.